Schadenfreude

“Oh yeah, I bet it sucks to be you right now” ~ Beyoncé

Or, as defined by my dictionary

Schadenfreude (n): one person’s delight in another’s misfortune

 

There’s a lot talked about karma, what goes around comes round, etc. I’m not sure where I stand on this. I was brought up believing it is right to be nice people. Not necessarily because it would then come back to you, just because it is the right way to behave. and within that, there is the concept of not gloating or laughing cos something bad has happened to someone else.

Let’s face it; bad things do not happen just to bad people. For example, I’m sure my mother hasn’t been an angel her entire life but then what did she do to be struck with Multiple Sclerosis in her forties & now be massively incapacitated? I doubt it is karmic revenge, just one of those life things. But I would hope that no-one she ever may have offended in her life is pleased that she is now suffering.

And, before you get all shocked & think ‘well that would never happen’ that is exactly what ‘schadenfreude’ is. Something bad has happened to you and it has pleased me. The key word being ‘pleased’. And there really are people in the world who think like that.

I suspect we all have a brief moment of a smile if we hear of a bad thing happening to someone who has hurt us or a loved one. But then you move on that was the past and it can stay there. But to continue to be gloating in their pain and downfall is to prolong a suffering in a way beyond need.

I have no desire to gloat and be happy in bad stuff happening. I want to be happy over good stuff happening. It seems a healthier outlook to me. But what about you guys? Thoughts appreciated, as always, on a comment box-shaped postcard.

 

Princess

 

nb.this is an edited version of a post from earlier in 2012

 

 

2 thoughts on “Schadenfreude

  1. ‘To delight in someone else’s misfortune’. Misfortune is bad luck, or something that’s happened that is unfortunate. When someone intentionally does bad things to other people and then gets pulled up on it, that’s not misfortune, or even karma, that’s just plain old JUSTICE.

Comment Box-Shaped Postcard

