Happiness Of This Sceptred Isle

“I feel myself falling, I’m feeling happy now” ~ Take That

Or, as defined by my dictionary:

Happy (adj): feeling or expressing joy, causing joy or gladness, fortunate or lucky

There are many things I love about being born and growing up in this country. Here’s just some of the things that I’m proud of, amused by, or just like…

 

Happiness is:

The Globe Theatre

Cricket, whether played at Lord’s or on the village green

Morris Dancers

York Minster

Rock pools in Cornwall

The view from the East Coast mainline

Pageantry

The Peak District

Talking about the weather

Last night of the proms

Country pubs

The Red Arrows

Castles

Wimbledon

Shakespeare

The boat race

Our passion for tea

And last but never ever least, The Tower of London

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve tried to keep this to places I’ve been or things I’ve experienced. Please share yours on a comment box-shaped postcard.

 

Princess

6 thoughts on “Happiness Of This Sceptred Isle

  1. Great blog post, has really made me think….You have the Peak District in your Happiness list 🙂 I adore the Peaks for it rugged isolation, particularly the beautifully wild Kinder Plateau and the remote Bleaklow. I like to sit up there amongst its “peatiness” and just reflect whatever the weather

Comment Box-Shaped Postcard

