The Sound of Happiness

“I feel myself falling, I’m feeling happy now” ~ Take That

Or, as defined by my dictionary:

Happy (adj): feeling or expressing joy, causing joy or gladness, fortunate or lucky

 

Little things I hear that always make me smile, some because they sound good, some because of memories they invoke, and some just because…

 

Happiness is:

The glug of pouring from a teapot

The entirely different glug of pouring a glass of wine

The still quiet outside when it has snowed overnight

Debaser by the Pixies

A cat purring

Opening a can of coke

Pretty much anything said in a French accent!

Hoppipolla by Sigur Ros

Two good friends singing Cell Block Tango from Chicago

Charlotte Green reading the clips on The News Quiz

The throaty purr of a Triumph Bonneville

Smile by The Supernaturals

The sound of my name when said by a lover

 

Share yours in a comment box-shaped postcard.

 

Princess

6 thoughts on “The Sound of Happiness

  1. The sound of a Rolls Royce Merlin engine will always make me smile, if it’s got a Spitfire wrapped round it doubly so!

  2. ‘Don’t Rain On My Parade’ by Bobby Darin
    ‘Big Pimpin” by Jay Z
    ‘Mr. Blue Sky’ by ELO
    ‘You Make My Dreams Come True’ by Hall & Oates
    I’ll stop doing songs now…
    The sound of ice cubes being dropped into a glass.
    Wood cracking in a fire.
    A cat purring on your stomach.
    Lying in cool, slightly overlong grass on warm day listening to nothing but the breeze…
    A 1960’s American muscle car (Mustang, Challenger, ‘Cuda)
    Off the top of my head.

  3. Rain lashing the windows when I am warm and dry.
    The wind in the trees outside my window when I am in my bed.
    My dreadful doorbell when I’m expecting friends.
    The budgie trilling and blowing me kisses (he does know they’re kisses, I’m sure).

Comment Box-Shaped Postcard

