How Do You Want To Be Remembered?

“You’re going to be remembered for the things that you say and do” ~ Bugsy Malone

Or, as defined by my dictionary

Remembered (vb): Became aware of again, to be kept in mind

 

How do you want to be remembered? How do you want to be thought of? When people speak of you, remember you; what do you want them to say?

It feels like we live in a world that is quick to criticise, quick to heckle. The bandwagon of blame rolls out quickly with many keen to get a seat, leaving the voices of reason dwindling in the distance. It’s as though it is easier to blame anyone a finger can be pointed at for failings and misdemeanours rather than listen, to try to understand, to help.

And, frankly, I’ve had enough. I may never save the world (this is not a Hollywood blockbuster) and I’m unlikely to ever invent, create, or design something that will go down in the history books. However, what I can do is the little things; I can speak out for the voiceless or those who feel only able to whisper, I can lend a hand to those who need it as they try to make their way. And if I can make people smile and feel better as I do that then I’ll be pretty pleased with that.

We can be anyone we want to in our own minds. But it is our words and our actions that others will remember, that define us. We can make those words helpful and encouraging or hurtful and with malice. We can chose to act or sit on the sidelines; to be a part of something or to comment as life rolls on by.

Wanting to make people smile, wanting to make people feel better, wanting justice and fairness and, simply, niceness; these may be naive and whimsical things but I don’t and won’t ever see that as reason to stop.

How do you want to be remembered?

 

Princess

 

15 thoughts on “How Do You Want To Be Remembered?

  1. I want my obituary to be that I never intentionally hurt another soul.
    You’re right, sniping seems to have become an increasingly popular modern day “sport”
    I worry sometimes that being an amateur satirist I’m occasionally perceived as crossing the line into unkindness, which never sits well with me.
    But I’m no saint.
    In fact I’m very, very human …
    A lovely, thought provoking post.
    Lily x

  2. A really lovely post, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I sometimes worry I’m not all that exciting or spectacularly funny or whatever, But when I really think about it, I’d be very happy to be remembered for being kind. It’s a little appreciated trait – and one I see in both you and Lily.

    • Thank you. As gets quoted a lot online “don’t mistake my kindness for weakness” & it’s true. I think it can be harder to be kind than many other things. It’s definitely something to aspire to! Not that you have to either, cos you are.

  3. One of your best yet.

    We often pursue recognition at the cost of everything else. Pursue careers and climb over others to get to the top. We want that recognition, we want that moment of fame but hope it will always be remembered. The best job, the smartest car, the best salary, the best figure, the most muscular and the house right out of Homes and Gardens.

    Yet to me this is flawed. My Gran always said “Take care of the pennies and the pounds will take care of themselves.”

    This encapsulates what I would like to achieve. The little things mean more and are far more humble. Calling on a neighbour, a kind word or gesture or just a smile. These are the things that define who we really are. Not the one off, big event but the long haul of simple random acts of kindness that illustrate who we truly are within.

    I fail every day… but I’m trying.

  4. I want to be remembered for being quietly correct. I have kept my powder dry on certain issues and people until asked, but I know I’m right in what I think. The truth always outs in the end… And when it does, I hope people will think ‘ah… She was right about him/that all along’. But at the same time I want people to be know I won’t judge them for ignoring my advice, knowledge and opinion. Oh, and for fun… Remember me for being fun and funny.

    Great blog x
    Tabs

    • Nice. And yes, knowing when to keep quiet is a skill. And I know why, in on area, it’s a pain for you to exercise but necessary.
      Also, you are funny. Wonderfully so. Thank you.

  5. A good, thought-provoking blog, well written and yes, it did make me smile. If folk gather round at all to remember me in the years ahead I suspect that the conversation will include the words Victor and Meldrew, but I think I’m OK with that. Thanks for the bog, I enjoyed it greatly

Comment Box-Shaped Postcard

