You Don’t Have To Say I Love You

“You don’t have to say you love me” ~ Dusty Springfield

Or, as defined by my dictionary

Love (vb): to have great affection for a person or thing

 

I’ve written a lot about love and friendship within this blog. This is because they are two of the most important things to me and go hand in hand.

It’s easy to take our friends, those we love for granted. Our love for them may be undisputed within our hearts but we forget to express it, to show how much we care and that we do appreciate how lucky we are to have them in our lives.

You don’t even have to say that you love them. There are so many ways to express love without ever even using the word (photo with kind permission of Vivienne Clore)

Love

 

 

My best friend died last year so I can’t say any of these things to him anymore. I would give up scores of things, people, to have him back. It’s selfish but I want my best friend back. I want that gap that his absence creates filled by his presence. I don’t know if I told him I loved him often enough. Or how much he meant to me. But I do know I said many of those things so I hope he knew.

My point, such as there is, is tend your friendships. Like plants, they need watering & sunshine, space in which to grow and, occasionally, culling. Life is simply too short to waste time on those who don’t enrich your life

But never stop telling the ones that do how much you love and appreciate them, however you chose to express it. Because one day you won’t be able to and that will be the time you want to do it the most.

 

Princess

3 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Say I Love You

  1. Thank you. We all need to be reminded, now and again, to show our appreciation. It is far too easy to enjoy someone more than they realise. I think it’s good to tell people how you feel about them, even if it makes their ears go a little bit pink.

    One thing really comes across, in all your posts (all of them, for as long as I’ve followed you) is how important friendship and love are to you.

    I think that often when we lose someone so close we doubt ourselves – did we show it, did they know, REALLY know, what they meant to us? I think you’re really good at showing it, and I think he really did know.

    • That made me a bit teary, thank you. Such a lovely thing to say.

      And I hope you get told things often that make the tips of your ears go a bit pink -you are lovely and deserve it.

      • You are more than welcome.

        Thank you, too – for my slightly pink ears…! I am very lucky, my LM tells me such things often, and I am grateful and glad.

Comment Box-Shaped Postcard

